7 Commonly known Chakra’s

Updated: May 26, 2020

The centre of energy in one’s body is called a “chakra”, meaning “wheel” in Sanskrit. The origin of the word stems from how the energy spins from one energy centre to the next, networking with the body’s physiological systems. In total, there are seven centres, located from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each plays a role in controlling emotions and the connection to one’s surroundings.

Root Chakra

The root chakra is the first and is located at the base of the spine. It is responsible for energy associated with feeling grounded, safe and represents characteristics of survival and one’s physical identity and is represented by the colour red.

When it becomes blocked, one may feel restless, co-dependent, and abandoned. To cure the blockage, many find relief by engaging in physical activities, such as walking, household chores, and exercise.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is associated with emotion, including creativity and sensuality, and is located in the lower belly. It relates to relationships, sensual pleasure, and the connection between inner and outer worlds. It is represented by the colour orange.

An imbalance here may cause symptoms such as feeling numb to emotion, having little control over one’s emotions, and feeling stuck in one mood. It may be difficult to feel empathy and cope with change. To cure the imbalance or blockage, many turn to healing methods that help in obtaining an emotional equilibrium, such using certain essential oils and meditation.